ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

Meg Little Reilly's Novel is a Plunge into the Dark Waters of Secrets and Flexible Morals

In EVERYTHING THAT FOLLOWS, two friends must choose between self-preservation and doing the right thing following a fatal boating accident.

Sarah Perry's Highly Acclaimed American Debut is Now Available in Paperback

THE ESSEX SERPENT is a novel that explores questions about science and religion, skepticism, and faith, independence and love.

David Duchovny Reimagines the Irish Mythological Figure of Emer in MISS SUBWAYS

Living in New York City, Emer takes the subway, has writerly aspirations and lives with her boyfriend. But is this life the only path she’s on?

Julia Whelan's Debut Novel is Set Amidst the Breathtaking Beauty of Oxford, England

A young woman is eager to make her mark in the world, but a handsome man will introduce her to an incredible love that will alter her future.

Araminta Hall's Chilling Psychological Thriller is Her First Book Published in the U.S.

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY is a darkly twisted novel about desire and obsession, and the complicated lines between truth and perception.

Featured Guides


EVERYTHING THAT FOLLOWS by Meg Little Reilly

Around midnight, three friends take their partying from bar to boat on a misty fall evening. Just as the weather deteriorates, one of them suddenly and confusingly goes overboard. Is it an accident? The result of an unwanted advance? His body disappears quickly, silently, into the dark water. The circumstances are murky, but what is clear is that the other two need to notify the authorities. Minutes become hours become days as they hesitate, caught up in their guilt and hope that their friend has somehow made it safely to shore. As valuable time passes, they find themselves deep in a moral morass with huge implications as they struggle to move forward and live with their dark secret.

» Click here for the featured guide.


THE ESSEX SERPENT by Sarah Perry

In the wake of her husband's death, Cora Seaborne leaves London for a visit to coastal Essex. There, she learns of an intriguing rumor of a fearsome creature said to roam the marshes claiming human lives. After nearly 300 years, the mythical Essex Serpent is said to have returned, taking the life of a young man on New Year’s Eve. Cora is certain that what the local people think is a magical sea beast may be a previously undiscovered species. Eager to investigate, she is introduced to local vicar William Ransome, who is convinced that the rumors are caused by moral panic, a flight from true belief. These seeming opposites soon find themselves inexorably drawn together and torn apart --- an intense relationship that will change both of their lives in ways entirely unexpected.

» Click here for the featured guide.

Latest Guides

Cocoa Beach by Beatriz Williams - Historical Fiction

The New York Times bestselling author of A CERTAIN AGE transports readers to sunny Florida in this lush and enthralling historical novel --- an enchanting blend of love, suspense, betrayal and redemption set among the rumrunners and scoundrels of Prohibition-era Cocoa Beach.

Tessa Fontaine’s astonishing memoir of pushing past fear, THE ELECTRIC WOMAN, follows the author on a life-affirming journey of loss and self-discovery --- through her time on the road with the last traveling American sideshow and her relationship with an adventurous, spirited mother.

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry - Historical Gothic Fiction

An exquisitely talented young British author makes her American debut with this rapturously acclaimed historical novel, set in late 19th-century England, about an intellectually minded young widow, a pious vicar and a rumored mythical serpent that explores questions about science and religion, skepticism, and faith, independence and love.

Everything That Follows by Meg Little Reilly - Psychological Suspense

For fans of Megan Abbott and Chris Bohjalian comes a novel of moral complexity about how three friends --- and lovers --- in their 20s must choose between self-preservation and doing what’s right in the wake of a fatal accident. A split second decision will haunt them forever…

From the New York Times bestselling author of THE INTERESTINGS comes an electric, multilayered novel about ambition, power, friendship and mentorship, and the romantic ideals we all follow deep into adulthood --- not just about who we want to be with, but who we want to be.

Nicola Moriarty makes her US debut with this stunning page-turner for fans of Jojo Moyes, Emily Giffin, Kate Morton and Jessica Knoll, about four best friends on a relaxing vacation that turns devastating when old secrets are revealed, long-held grudges surface, and a shattering betrayal is discovered that shakes the foundation of their lives.

Miss Subways by David Duchovny - Fantasy/Humor

New York Times bestselling author David Duchovny reimagines the Irish mythological figure of Emer in MISS SUBWAYS, a darkly comic fantasy love story set in New York City.

In her sparkling debut, Julia Whelan crafts an incredible love story --- set amongst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford --- about a determined, intelligent young woman eager to make her mark in the world, a handsome man with secrets he never wants to share, and a love that entangles and refuses to let them go unscathed.

Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall - Psychological Thriller

A spellbinding, darkly twisted novel about desire and obsession, and the complicated lines between truth and perception, OUR KIND OF CRUELTY introduces Araminta Hall, a chilling new voice in psychological suspense.

From the author of BOND GIRL and LOST ALONG THE WAY comes a fiercely funny, insightful story of marriage, family and the crooked path to figuring out who we really are.

New York Times bestselling author Dorothea Benton Frank returns to her magical Lowcountry of South Carolina in this bewitching story of marriage, love, family and friendship that is infused with her warm and engaging earthy humor and generous heart.

From the New York Times bestselling author of THE ROSIE PROJECT comes a story of taking chances and learning to love again as two people, one mourning her husband and the other recovering from divorce, cross paths on the centuries-old Camino pilgrimage from France to Spain.