Skip to main content

Geraldine Brooks


Geraldine Brooks

Geraldine Brooks is the author of five novels: the Pulitzer Prize-winning MARCH and the international bestsellers THE SECRET CHORD, CALEB'S CROSSING, PEOPLE OF THE BOOK and YEAR OF WONDERS. She has also written the acclaimed nonfiction works NINE PARTS OF DESIRE: The Hidden World of Islamic Women and FOREIGN CORRESPONDENCE. CALEB'S CROSSING was the winner of the New England Book Award for Fiction and the Christianity Today Book Award, and was a finalist for the Langum Prize in American Historical Fiction. Born and raised in Australia, she lives on Martha’s Vineyard with her husband, the author Tony Horwitz.

Photo Credit: Randi Baird

Books by Geraldine Brooks

by Geraldine Brooks - Fiction, Historical Fiction

From Louisa May Alcott’s beloved classic Little Women, Geraldine Brooks has animated the character of the absent father, March. Brooks follows March as he leaves behind his family to aid the Union cause in the Civil War. His experiences will utterly change his marriage and challenge his most ardently held beliefs.